What Do You Eat? Breakfast & Snacks

Breakfast is a really hard meal for me. I used to like an icy cold Coke or a piping hot cup of sweet flavorful coffee, neither of which I can have anymore. Since my breakfast and my snacks are usually the same things I put them together in this post.

I have never been a breakfast person, now I actually have to eat energy in the morning or I crash, and I crash hard. For some reason when I crash, I can’t regain my stamina at all, all day. My breakfast used to be simple eggs and man did I get sick of eggs. To the point the thought of eggs made me gag. But what else could I have? No grains means no cereal, no bagels, no english muffins, no oatmeal. All my favorite standbys were gone. I didn’t know where to buy almond and coconut flour, let alone how to cook with it! There were mornings I would actually cry because I’d wake up so hungry and there was nothing I could eat, but I still had to make a yummy breakfast for everyone else. All store-bought Gluten-Free items are out since they replace flour in most of these products with rice and/or corn flour. My Doctor told me stop trying to find replacements for those things and move on to new foods and it made me so mad. Couldn’t he see I was starving? Besides, I am the self-proclaimed ‘queen of bulk cooking’ and I don’t have time for that! When you already have major fatigue and pain all day you don’t really have a “I’m gonna go tackle this new food stuff” attitude!

One day I woke up and I was not going to feel that sad about food anymore. There wasn’t a food fairy that was going to come and leave magically delicious Paleo breakfast treats for me. There was however a great friend who was going to take my kids for 4 hours so I could learn how to cook for myself. I decided to get online and find recipes that would not only fill my tummy, but also make me happy eating them. There was a lot of trial and error, but I have a handful of things now and I can rotate through them without getting bored. I am still trying new recipes, but I’m a pretty finicky eater for breakfast.

Donuts made with coconut flour are a new revelation. The texture is weird and they are not as good when they cool (or the next day) but there are a lot of combinations of mix-ins and toppings. These have coconut sugar and cinnamon on top. I used Penzy’s spices which for some reason taste so much better than the ones off the store shelf. You can make these a dessert by putting a little Paleo coconut whipped cream in the center and a few chocolate chip, or keep them breakfast by adding a little greek yogurt and some berries. I’m going to try them with almond flour to see if it’s a better texture.

Dehydrated fruit is a great snack and also a healthy food to grab when I’m working on getting everyone else fed. Don’t eat the store-bought stuff. It has sulfur dioxide and potassium sorbate as preservatives and there is no way they can be healthy. I have an entire different post on these hidden chemicals I firmly believe are contributing to uprise in health issues these days, but I encourage them to research them and see what you’re eating.

Smoothies! I’ve always made smoothies, but now I actually make them as a meal replacement. I just ordered Hemp Protein to add a little boost. I also bought some chia seeds which are a new superfood that not only packs a punch with protein, but expands in your tummy to sustain you longer.

Plantain chips – 3 simple ingredients. They come in a bag and they’re healthy. Could it be true? This is actually a junk food me, but it is yummy and replaces the tortilla chips I miss badly.

Fruit! Lots and lots of fruit. I don’t eat jello even though it’s in the picture. This was a treat for the boy for the Opening ceremony of the Olympics.

Paleo bread. This is was not my favorite at all, but it worked for a sandwich I was craving and for french toast. It is made with almond butter so it has a peanut taste. I do miss fluffy bread.

Chocolate Chip Scones. I can eat an entire pan of these when they come out of the oven, and unlike many of the other almond recipes, these stay good for a few days with a little heat up in the toaster oven. I keep saying I will try them with blueberries, but why ruin a good thing?

Blueberry Muffins made with coconut flour. I just don’t love the texture of coconut flour.

Blueberry muffins with Almond Flour. Much nicer than coconut flour in my opinion. So yummy warm with melted butter.

And more smoothies…

I drink lots of infused waters and use it in my smoothies. My latest favorite is coconut water infused with lime. It’s not a Coke, but it works.

These were the best Gluten-Free cookies I’ve tried, but they are far from Paleo so I have to say goodbye. If you are only having to cut gluten, you will love these!

A lot of days, grabbing a few pieces of fruit is all there is time for, so I try to keep a big stock all the time. I’m so excited for the Funky Monkey Farm to open next week! I’ll keep you up to date on that.

Other times I spend a long time chopping it all up!

yogurt is a staple now. I usually buy Wallaby, but Chobani was on sale at Costco and it turned out to be pretty tasty. I put a few in the freezer and it’s a nice ice cream snack. Another snack idea is to spear a blueberry (or other berry) on a toothpick and dunk into the greek yogurt. Place on a parchment lined pan and freeze. YUM!

This is one of the best Saturday breakfast feasts I’ve made with a coconut puff pancake and sautéed apples.

 

Nuts are a great snack to travel with. I was sad when I found out cashews were a bean and I couldn’t have them, but I’m opening up to new kinds of nuts. Other than pistachios I buy them raw and roast and season them myself so they are always fresh and I don’t get bored.

Applesauce is a quick, easy, chilled snack. I can add dried berries and a sprinkle of cinnamon and it feels like a treat. It also compliments the coconut flour items well.

These are my “I’m worth a nice drink” beverages. So yummy.

Pumpkin Spice Waffles

Gingerbread seasoned pancakes

Two of my friends found this line of mixes for me and then went and bought every single package they could find at all the surrounding Homegoods stores! I have cookies, cakes, frosting, brownies and all-purpose flour. Noah said they are the best pancakes ever and they are Paleo! I just add a few spices and topping and whoalah! I get really excited about any connivence foods I can find!

I usually mix the raisins with dried berries, nuts and chocolate chips to make a healthy trail mix. It’s yummy in yogurt or on top of Paleo ice cream.

I still remember the first time I ate a Larabar. I was completely disgusted with the texture of this brown molded lump of ingredients. Now, it’s a staple. Peanut butter and jelly is my favorite. It boarders Paleo approval, but it’s a staple for me.

Fruit leather is a nice sweet snack to keep in my purse with my Larabars and trail mix. It doesn’t take away my desire for Skittles, but it helps. I still eat eggs on occasion and I’m working on finding some breakfast meats I eat. On occasion I’ll have roasted veggies or make a Quiche or casserole. I just bought a new book and I’m excited to try some new recipes next week.

Next Post – Lunch & Dinner

One response

  1. I have found that I like a tossed salad for breakfast — mostly just lettuce and tomato, but cucumber is good, also. I know it may sound gross to some people but it is good.

Leave a Reply

