What Do You Eat? Lunch & Dinner

Unless my fridge is stocked with “eat ready” food, which means all I have to do is grab and eat, I’m really bad about eating lunch. I miss the days of a simple sandwich or a quick stop at a fast food place. I have been spending quite a bit of time in the Worley Test Kitchen finding lunches I can freeze. I do try to make enough dinner the night before to eat the next day, but I am a leftovers snob. There are very few meals I enjoy as much the next day.

Dinner is the meal I look forward to the most. I love trying all my new recipes and having a balanced meal. I am eating things I would have never touched in the past like seafood (which I did crave a lot when I was pregnant) coconut products and cilantro. Here are few things in my normal rotation right now:

Spinach salad with warm bacon dressing. This has been a favorite my friend Dani passed down to me years ago. I LOVE it. But it has bacon and bacon drippings in the dressing. How could it not be excellent?

Pizza with an almond flour crust, homemade marinara, fresh mozzarella and nitrate free pepperoni. It’s not the best, but it will do.

Creamy baked potato soup with all the toppings. Potatoes are questionable in the Paleo world because they are believed to spike our insulin. I added some fat with the bacon and sour cream to balance it out.

Salmon patties. There is no way I would have eaten these a year ago. Now I make them and have them in my freezer for easy lunches. I also made a batch of black bean burgers to freeze.

I eat fish at least once a week. My favorite is hobo seasoned tilapia, but I like it with a good fruit salsa also. We’ve also had Hake, tuna, salmon, cod and scallops.

Blackened grilled Hake with bok choy (something I have never tried before) and roasted potatoes that I could eat at every meal.

This is a fabulous salsa using jicama, blueberries, strawberries, cilantro and lime juice. It’s good on fish or with chips.

Snow crab. I never though things like this were worth the work. They are!

This was one of my sampler plates in the test kitchen. Frozen grapes, or “grapecicles” have become a favorite with the boys.

Another sampler day. Cucumber humus, cucumber & tomato salad, marinated cucumbers…guess what we had a large batch of in the garden?

A steak salad with strawberry and avocado. I used a little squeeze of lime for dressing.

Steak, Steak, STEAK! I am a new lover of steak! It has to be a good NY strip or ribeye though. Noah has absolutely perfected grilling these wonderful morsels and I can eat a huge one myself. I try to have a green veggie and one other, but it’s a lot of prep so it doesn’t always happen.

Cauliflower soup. I’ve decided I’m not a big fan of pureed soups.

Homemade french fries..need I say more?

Jicama fries..a little healthier option.

I have tried no less than 6 bread recipes and they are…blah. I’ve resorted to using lettuce, apples and jicama for my “bread”. I like food like egg salad or tuna salad in a hollowed out cucumber or avocado. YUM!

Fruit..always…fruit! I am loving the variety I can get between the farmers market, HEB and Costco. Winter will be a challenge in this area!

These are the basics to our meals here at Worley Co. these days. I have paid a little extra to get better spices from a local spice store which allows us a lot of variety in changing up the same base foods. Usually when I am craving something on the “Poison to my body” list I can find a Paleo alternative. They may not always be that great, but making it takes my mind off my craving for a while. I have a lot of new things I have been testing that have been yummy! Here are a few:

Cinnamon swirl coconut pancakes. These are absolutely addictive!

Cinnamon swirl muffins. I have a few ideas to make these better next time.

“Grapecicles”

Banana, almond butter, chocolate chip ice cream.

Blueberry, banana ice cream.

Roasted sweet potatoes. These were supposed to come out like a chip, they didn’t.

Dehydrated sweet potatoes. HORRIBLE

Cinnamon baked apple chips. YUMMY and my house smelled like fall!

Cheddar cheese almond crackers. I have been wanting something I can dunk and these are great. I just haven’t found a good way to store them yet.

Right now I am making my second batch of grain free granola. I have been wanting cereal which is completely off-limits, but my first batch of granola was amazing and cured that craving. This second batch uses different nuts and is dehydrated instead of baked. I hope it’s yummy!

I have had a lot of requests for information on where I buy my ingredients. So here is a list with photos. As always, please let me know if you have any questions or want any recipes!

Talk to Tobi when you go for a visit. They will even give you a tour of the back and show you how they roast the nuts. http://houstonpecan.com/

I honestly didn’t know there was such a difference in spice taste. These are a million times better than those bought at the grocery store. If you buy them in the bag it is much cheaper than buying in their fancy glass bottles. http://www.penzeys.com/

Cake mixes, pancake/waffle, frosting, cookies. All made with coconut and tapioca flour. They are wonderful when you don’t have time for a from scratch recipe. http://xobakingco.com/

I bought this a Costco, but they next time I buy I’ll get them fresh from Houston Pecan Co.

I love all of these flavored vinegar, but you have to be careful. Some do contain gluten and dye.

I have been ordering from Honeyville because the cookbook I purchased from here: http://elanaspantry.com/ recommends them. They do have almond flour at Houston Pecan Co. but I haven’t tried it yet. http://honeyvillegrain.com/

I buy these little drops of heaven from HEB or Whole Foods. I haven’t found a cheaper alternative than their price of $4.91 a bag, but it’s worth it to me!

I have always loved this tea and wasn’t sure it would be as good without sugar, but agave works great!

These are new super food and pretty amazing little seeds. If you haven’t read up on Chia Seed you need to.

This is amazing and just like frosting for our homemade donuts. It’s from Tropical Traditions.

I have tried several different coconut milk brands. I don’t like that this had guar gum in it, but I like the taste and consistency the best so far.

When I run out of this I will probably switch to Tropical Traditions just to make it easier to order from one less place! But this one is really yummy also.

This magical powder is making it’s way into my smoothies now. It’s gritty and takes some getting used to, but the benefits are worth it. This will actually sustain my through a workout. (I’m still starving afterwards though!) HEB sells this, but I found it $7 cheaper on Amazon.

Infused coconut water is yummy for a change. I bought this brand at a very good price at Costco. I use it to make ice cubes for my smoothies also.

Tropical Traditions Coconut Flour. This is the best price I have found and they have good promotions.
http://www.tropicaltraditions.com/

If you’re new to this journey, be encouraged! I have only been traveling this road about 6 months and the Paleo diet less than 2 months. There are a ton of resources and lots of recipes on Pinterest. You can always check my board titled “Paleo Recipes We’ve Tried and Liked” if you need some ideas. This is a FUN new journey once it stops being so hard 😉

8 responses

  1. I’m sorry for the reason you are having to eat differently. However, your info above is so helpful to me. I’m working to have our family eat like this often. I’d love to raid your pantry! 🙂

  2. I would love that!! I’m not sure what you can, or can’t, have, but I’m trying new recipes all the time. I think of you when we eat super healthy. 🙂 By the way, I saw a HUGE container of coconut oil at Costco yesterday for $15. Even though we’re not out, I should’ve bought it.
    Since your visit in July I have realized how well (I think 🙂 ) our families would get along. Our kids are very similar in many areas, our diet is similar, our beliefs….and the list goes on! Didn’t I hear you say you like the DFW area and want to move up here??? 🙂

    • They are either on my Pinterst Board under Paleo Recipes We Tried, or from the book Eat Like a Dinosaur. I also use http://www.elanaspantry.com/ and http://www.thespunkycoconut.com/ a ton! You can google Paleo and there are LOTS of resources. I am also grain free and I truely believe until you eliminate corn products (which is VERY hard, especially if you are buying anything labeled GF in the store) you will not see a big difference in their rash. I know it’s a defeated feeling, but try it for 2 weeks and see what happens 🙂

Leave a Reply

