Isaiah and The Super Horrible Luck!

My Sweet Isaiah

My Sweet Isaiah

This is the story named Isaiah and his Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day! (Which is much funnier if you’ve read this book!)

It started out a day like any other I’m sure, but I don’t quite remember the details of it all now. You would think the date (8/27/12) of our first trip to the emergency room in 6 years of parenting would be embedded in my brain, but I chose to try to forget it ever happened! I remember we went for our usual Tae Kwon Do lesson in the morning and then headed to the Pediatrician for the boys well visits. Poor Isaiah had to receive several pokes and he was NOT pleased with that reality! Unfortunately to make it even worse, he had a minor reaction and now he is VERY afraid of shots! I’m pretty sure it was the bandaides and not the shots, but either way he was angry.

Isaiah's poor little legs after his shots.

Isaiah’s poor little legs after his shots.

My friend Geneva stopped over while I was watching another friends children and we were visiting on the couch. I noticed the pull-up bar was in the doorway to the school room (we usually try to take it down after using it) and I remember saying, “Don’t close that door guys or the bar will fall down.” WHY oh WHY didn’t I just get up and move it at that moment!!

This is Isaiah a few days after the incident. We had to encourage him not to be afraid of the pull-up bar.

This is Isaiah a few days after the incident. We had to encourage him not to be afraid of the pull-up bar.

The play date ended, the kids were picked up and my boys went into rest time. I had in the back of mind I needed to take the bar down and then got busy doing laundry, dishes and making dinner before Noah got home. Everything was rolling as normal, I put Isaiah in an oatmeal bath to play in hopes it would soothe his legs and Samuel on the computer to play while I got dinner on the table. Noah came in and we were trying to have a conversation before the boys joined us at the table. When we were done, we sent Isaiah to get Samuel in the schoolroom and the scream that came was one that you KNEW without a DOUBT that Isaiah was hurt.

I was instantly angry at myself because before I even saw him, I knew what had just happened. The mom guilt was so intense. His cheek was dripping blood and he was screaming. If it were any place but his eye, I would have attempted putting the dermabond on myself, but because I didn’t want him to have a scar, I wanted the option to have a plastic surgeon. Also, it was really close to his eye and that made me nervous.

Isaiah being a sweet little patient at Texas Children's Hospital.

Isaiah being a sweet little patient at Texas Children’s Hospital.

We piled up in the van, and to give myself a little kudos I was able to yell out to Noah the things he had to get, kids shoes, Leapster, snacks and I don’t know what else but it made sense at the time. The boys were excited they finally convinced me to download Angry Birds on my phone and let them take turns playing. The entire time we were in the emergency room we could not get his cheek to stop bleeding, so I was glad we went when we did.

The doctor was really great and the nurse held an iPad above his head so he could watch a video while they cleaned his wound and attempted the glue. They were not sure it would work at first, but I wanted to at least try before going to the next level of sedation for stitches. God answered our pleads for the blood to finally clot and the glue held! We were so thankful and Isaiah was pretty happy to get his victory popsicle.

A special treat that he never did feel like eating.

A special treat that he never did feel like eating.

His eye looked worse over the next few days as it swelled.

The day after he couldn't even open his eye.

The day after he couldn’t even open his eye.

But it got a little better as the day went on.

But it got a little better as the day went on.

Day three he was still not quite himself and the glue on his eye was really starting to irritate him.

Day three he was still not quite himself and the glue on his eye was really starting to irritate him.

Isaiah would get mad every time he looked in the mirror. He would talk about the pull-bar and how bad it was.

He finally started to come around as the swelling went down and the bruising set in.

He finally started to come around as the swelling went down and the bruising set in.

So we tried a little outing in the car to take Samuel to piano.

So we tried a little outing in the car to take Samuel to piano.

Each day showed improvement and my little super hero finally started to play again.

Each day showed improvement and my little super hero finally started to play again.

We did allow for some spoiled moments of popcorn and movies in the couch.

We did allow for some spoiled moments of popcorn and movies in the couch.

This is one of my favorite pictures because he was finally looking like Isaiah again!

This is one of my favorite pictures because he was finally looking like Isaiah again!

Once the glue came off he was a much happier boy. He reminded me every night to put the vitamin e oil on his eye!

Once the glue came off he was a much happier boy. He reminded me every night to put the vitamin e oil on his eye!

But something STILL wasn’t right. Isaiah was rubbing his eye a lot when we were doing school and whenever he watched television. I decided to go ahead and have his eyes checked and sure enough he had an astigmatism but only in his right eye. Strange since this is where the injury was, but I was assured this was not a result of the injury two weeks before because he already had a slight amblyopia also. (That is a lazy eye) The crazy thing is I originally thought Samuel was the one who needed glasses and he was better than 20/20. Isaiah has the same eye issues I had a child but thankfully does not need surgery. Could it be genetic? It’s just strange it’s the same eye as the injury, and only that eye.

I feel it was a blessing this incident happened to reveal this problem with his eye early on. We went to Dr. Romero at Katy Optiks and we LOVED him in case you need a referral.  He is a Opthamoligist not a Optomotrist and I feel that is important when you have complicated eye issues like me. Isaiah got to pick his own glasses and went with the cute blue ones. The ladies in the eye-glass center are amazing and they measuresd Isaiah’s eyes perfectly so his glasses fit properly. These glasses are FANTASTIC because they are totally flexible and have a strap to keep them on. The best part is he LOVES them! (The left lense is just glass) After 6 weeks of trying  (just) the glasses we had to add a patch for an hour a day for 8 weeks.

The cutest pirate EVER!

The cutest pirate EVER!

The first patch we got was like a big bandaide and Isaiah HATED it. He would cry when it was on which was horrible because his tears would soak the patch. We tried it for a while and it would only last about 15 minutes and we’d have to take it off. The last time we kept it on the full hour and he kept saying it hurt. Uhm…duh Mommy…see the previous pictures from his shot bandaides and you can imagine what his face looked like around his eye! Swollen and red and he was not a happy little camper. After some research I found these Amblyo-Patches and they are great. Last week he got the great news the patch worked to correct the lazy eye and (fingers crossed) if he keep wearing his glasses he won’t have that problem again. unfortunately, the astigmatism isn’t correcting itself yet and the Doctor feels at this time he’ll always need correction for the right eye. We’re still praying for a miracle for that!

It is very rare that we go out and are not asked about Isaiah’s glasses and I assure he is loving being called cute no less than 4 times a day! It could have been much worse!

3 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing Isaiah’s journey with his eye. It is Awersome that you were able to journal everything with pictures. You are an Amazing Mom! I wish I could get a picture of Abigail with Isaish sporting their cute glasses! 🙂

Leave a Reply

