Go Rangers…uhm I mean Astros!

Family time at the Astros game.

Family time at the Astros game.

We were blessed with some FREE tickets to the Astros game and couldn’t turn down a fun family opportunity. The boys had so much fun at all the pregame activities where they jumped in bounce houses, made signs to cheer for the Astros and a few other things I can’t remember now. I really thought I took pictures. If I did they’re lost. But one thing is certain, when they closed it down for the game to start, my boys were not pleased!

OK….So neither of my kids had any idea what was happening on the field..which means neither did I! But they had fun snacking and playing.

Loving some time with my boys at the ball game.

Loving some time with my boys at the ball game.

I’m pretty sure I referred to The Astros as The Rangers no less than twenty times. I have no idea why I do this. I have no affection for either team. I do love this little man though!

I'm the silliest Samuel in town!

I’m the silliest Samuel in town!

And this one who could not sit still for one little second!

Taking advantage of the empty aisle.

Taking advantage of the empty aisle.

At one point, there was a really old lady, with a really deep scratchy voice selling peanuts and she came to the front of our row singing, “Take me out to the ballgame…” at the tip TOP of her lungs. At first my boys seemed scared and Samuel asked, “Why is that man yelling like that?!” Then I explain the song to him and the fact it was a women and he decided it was VERY cool and sang along almost as loud.

Take me out to the ballgame!

Take me out to the ballgame!

The after game party is just as much fun as the pregame activities

They couldn't wait for their turn to run the bases.

They couldn’t wait for their turn to run the bases.

This was the point as a parent when you wonder if you should stay and keep waiting, or just go. We decided to stay since we didn’t have any place else to be and it was worth it. It was a little tense for me when they take your kids in big group down to the field and for that split second you can’t see them. It wasn’t that I was concerned for their safety, although that is always on my mind in these types of situations, it was that Samuel forgets he has a little brother when he gets excited and Isaiah screams and freezes when he can’t find Samuel. When you’re not even in yelling distance to your kids it’s a tense moment. Isaiah did great until the end when he followed the rules to exit and Samuel just kept going around…and around…Isaiah tried to get back on to follow and they stopped him. That was the melting point of confusion. He couldn’t see us and he couldn’t be with Samuel. You better believe Daddy went down those bleachers and nobody was telling him no! It all ended well and Isaiah left with good memories.

Isaiah tried to take a shortcut.

Isaiah tried to take a shortcut.

Samuel & Isaiah running like the wind.

Samuel & Isaiah running like the wind.

Samuel snuck by the guards TWICE and ran around three times. I guess the candy overload was kicking in!

Samuel snuck by the guards TWICE and ran around three times. I guess the candy overload was kicking in!

We love our Mickey Mouse.

We love our Mickey Mouse.

Our fun photos continued outside.

Play BALL!

Play BALL!

Until next time Juice Box!

DSCN8543Today I asked Samuel and Isaiah what they remember about the Astros game five months later.

Samuel: “It was really fun and I wish I could go there everyday. Well, I’m glad I don’t go everyday because then it wouldn’t be as special.”

Isaiah: “I remember hitting the ball.”

Yes, it’s clear they have no recollection of this day whatsoever. I’m glad I take the time to create these memories in a book they will some day look back and know we actually did some pretty cool things with them!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

