Did Someone Say Donuts?

When I hear the word “donuts” I’m always immediately filled with happy memories. There’s a few reasons for this, one is the name my dad called me when I was little, “Debbie Donuts.” Every once in a while he’ll still send an email that refers to me that way and it always makes me feel special. The other memory also involves him. On some Sunday mornings my siblings and I would take turns going with dad to Dip n’ Sip to get yummy, fresh donuts. I would always get chocolate covered Boston cream filled. My brother was a fan of the fluffy chocolate covered and he could easily eat a dozen. My sister’s was a chocolate frosting filled powder covered donut. This was a  HUGE job, because we had to take the rest of the families donut orders and you DID NOT want to mess this up! Obviously years (just FEW years) later, I still remember this order. But the challenge was so worth it to have that time alone with my dad. Fresh donuts in hand and the smell of Dip n’ Sip coffee lingering on us, we’d head over to Cumberland Farms and get the big Sunday paper. We all loved to read the “funnies” page which were much funnier back then.

You did NOT want to sleep in on Sunday mornings and miss your time! With all that said, donuts = happy thoughts and not being able to eat them = VERY SAD feelings. So what do I do when I don’t like something. I try to change it!! Which brings us to last week: DONUT WEEK! I spent a week trying a new donut recipe each day. I even took some to friends for reviews from people who don’t have an emotional connection to donuts and aren’t held to the constraints of a Paleo diet. Some of these are legal Paleo, some break the sugar rule, but they all have adjustments to suite your needs. I am fortunate that while I follow a Paleo diet because of food allergies, if I CAN eat something non-Paleo like sugar, I DO, just in moderation.

Day One: Carrot Cake Donuts from here: http://paleomg.com/carrot-cake-donuts/ These are Paleo.These donuts have a lot of potential but I accidentally bought the Sunbutter with flax which was GROSE and the little slimy seeds, YUCK! Not to mention flax was very high on my allergy list. So…I give them a 7 out of 10 for my own mistake. If you like carrot cake, you will love these. I also LOVE blog humor and this lady has it! Seriously, flax seeds can’t possibly add any nutrition when they are whole.

DSCN0119

Looks yummy doesn’t it?

Day Two: Pumpkin Spice Donuts from here: http://www.againstallgrain.com/2012/10/25/baked-pumpkin-doughnut/ These are Paleo.

These were so yummy! I even got the thumbs up from some non Paleo friends. You can do lots of variations to the toppings to make them just the way you like them. This was Isaiah’s favorite of the week.

DSCN0128

I made a chocolate drizzle and it was excellent! I WILL try it with the bacon next time.

DSCN0127

I made minis for the boys to have a fun breakfast.

Day Three: Chocolate Mint Donuts from here: http://realsustenance.com/grain-free-chocolate-peppermint-cake-donuts/ There are adjustments given for Paleo, however I went all out and used organic, unrefined cane sugar.

I may or may not have eaten all of these yumtastic donuts. I will try other flavors in the next batch,, perhaps raspberry. Ohhh…yum! I made cream cheese frosting for the top and they were addictive. Samuel liked these and the pumpkin about the same.

DSCN0137

I made these Apple Cider Donuts in the past and thought they were good, but not as good as any of the above ones: http://paleospirit.com/2012/apple-cider-paleo-donuts/

DSCN8396

These Chocolate donuts are made with coconut flour and they were really good with lots of chocolate on top, but the above chocolate mint recipe is my favorite:http://www.thespunkycoconut.com/2012/05/chocolate-doughnuts-with-or-without-egg.html

DSCN8605

All of these donuts are best stored in the fridge, unfrosted, in a bag with a paper towel in it. None of them. like most Paleo treats last long without becoming mushy. I tried keeping them on the counter and they got a little gooey. These are obviously not like the fluffy ones I used to get a child, but they are better than “good enough” as a replacement and I have hope that one day I won’t crave the others anymore!

Here are my supplies:

It’s pretty rare I don’t eat some these little bites of pleasure melted with fruit as fondue daily. They are THAT good. The ingredients are: Evaporated Cane Juice, Natural Chocolate Liquor (Non-Alcoholic), Non-Dairy Cocoa Butter. I also sprinkle these in Greek Yogurt, pancakes and muffins to make the gluten-free journey a big party.

I bought my Coconut Cream Concentrate from here: http://www.tropicaltraditions.com/coconut_cream_concentrate.htm

DSCN8584

These are the pans I have:

Product Details

I bought mine at Bed, Bath & Beyond with a coupon, but Amazon has the same price.

Product Details

Mini donuts are just more fun!

It was fun to try new donut recipes this week. By the end of the week Isaiah actually said, “Donuts agaaaaaiiinnn?” and I knew it was time to move on to new recipes. This week we’re trying a bunch of new recipes including Paleo friendly pancakes and waffles. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

